Mcd mayoral election: councilors threw chairs, also scuffle, know what happened in the mayoral election in 10 points

MCD Mayor Election file pic

Today there was a lot of commotion during the mayoral election (MCD Mayor Election) in Delhi. As soon as the presiding officer began to take the oath to the nominated members, there was a commotion in the house. The councilors of the Aam Aadmi party started to oppose it. The dispute escalated to the point of a scuffle between the council members. Many councilors threw chairs at each other. The BJP has accused Aam Aadmi party councilors of assault. It is said that many councilors were also injured. Seeing the growing uproar, the presiding officer postponed the election. Now the Lieutenant Governor is once again announcing a date for the mayoral election. Let’s understand in ten points what happened during the day and what is likely to happen in the future?

1. The Lieutenant Governor had nominated 10 members for the mayoral election

On January 5, 10 councilors were nominated by Delhi’s Lieutenant Governor Vinay Kumar Saxena. The nominated councilors are Vinod Kumar, Laxman Arya, Mukesh Mann, Mahesh Singh Tomar, Rajkumar Bhatia, Mohan Goyal, Sanjay Tyagi, Rajpal Rana, Kamal Jeet Singh and Rohtash Kumar. The Aam Aadmi Party claims that they are all members of the Bharatiya Janata Party.

2. Who are the candidates for mayor and deputy mayor?

The Aam Aadmi party has nominated Councilor Shaili Oberoi as its mayoral candidate, while Rekha Gupta is in the BJP’s fray. Aam Aadmi Party has nominated Aale Mohammad Iqbal and BJP has nominated Kamal Bagdi for the post of deputy mayor.

3. Congress had decided to stay out of the election

Congress had decided to stay away from the mayoral and deputy mayoral elections. This time, nine congressional candidates emerged victorious in the Delhi Municipal Corporation elections. This was announced by the state president of the congress, Anil Chaudhary, on Thursday. He had said that the Congress party was not getting public support in the Delhi Municipal Corporation, in consideration of which the Congress party has decided to abstain from voting for the Mayor, Deputy Mayor and Standing Committee members.

4. The controversy started before the election

The election of mayor and deputy mayor would take place today. Previously, the oath to all councilors would be taken by the presiding officer appointed by the lieutenant governor. The presiding officer first convened the nominated members to take the oath. Angered by this, the Aam Aadmi party councilors started a ruckus.

(TagsToTranslate)Mcd mayor election

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.